The Battle Between Good and Evil


When I began my reading program I selected a series of books by Madeleine L’Engle as my core reading. These books, collectively called L’Engle Time Quintet, are based on the struggle between light and darkness, employ variations of time travel to put the universal war between good and evil into the framework of various eras in time.

There are two reasons I choose to begin with L’Engle’s books. First the books include award winning books. These are certified quality literature for young readers. You don’t need to be worried about being faced with high level reading requirements. These can be read and loved by most middle grade elementary children.

Second, because of the time-travel nature of the content of the books, nobody is throwing stones in glass houses. These stories remove themselves from current politics and personalities by moving into the future, the near past, the more distant past, and into the ancient past. One of the stories even goes within to examine non-human beings and our dependence upon them.

Let us examine then the stories of the five books in the series:

  1.  A Wrinkle in Time (1963)
  2.  A Wind in the Door
  3.  A Swiftly Tilting Planet
  4.  Many Waters (1986)
  5.  An Acceptable Time

Exploring History through Ancestry and Literature